I’m Back….

I’m sorry I haven’t written in a long time, and I’m sorry to have kept you (all two of you) waiting (if, indeed, you’ve bothered to wait).  Writing a blog is not something I’m used to doing, and it has not been much of a priority.  No doubt you can also find more interesting sources on Iceland.  But I will try to bring this page up to date.

That being said, I want to correct a comment I made in my last post.  The æ is in fact the easier letter to write in cursive than the ð.  Although the ð is apparently an older style of d with a cross through its stem, nobody seems willing to modify the slant in the ð’s stem (in cursive) to look like a d and simply cross that.  I can’t say I would like this at all either.  The cursive ð, therefore, may require a break in the continuation of the script mid-word.  You can achieve the cursive æ, on the other hand, by just widening the would-be stem of the lower-case a into a loop.  Unfortunately this looks dangerously similar to the œ, which you find in some Old Norse texts, but there had to be something to complicate this.

Thanks for reading,

B.

This entry was posted in Iceland. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

