Water!

Pretty, isn’t it?  This is the area around Geysir, one of Iceland’s more tourist friendly geysers (you’ll have noticed the etymological similarity, no doubt).  The next photo is of the geyser itself.

Nice and peaceful.  But wait for it…

Boom!  It’s fun to watch.  I’m sorry for the inclusion of the Japanese tourist.  I tried to find a place where I’d get a picture of the geyser unobstructed, but he darted right in front of me.  It’s inevitable, though.  I’m pretty sure international law dictates that one photo out of every photo album you compile outside your own country must include a Japanese cameraman.  That’s why there are at least forty of them at any given tourist destination.  Moving right along…

Now we have photos of Gullfoss.  The second part of that name, “foss”, indicates that it’s a waterfall.

Pictures don’t really do it justice.  It’s quite a sight.  It made me think of the waterfall climbing scene in the movie, The Mission.  On that note:

B.

This entry was posted in Iceland. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Water!

  1. Hallie says:

    Bond…so fun to see your blog! GeeGee sent me the link. I love your photos..so fun to see your world there. The Ennio Morricone piece from “The Mission” is one of my favorites. I’m getting out my C.D.–love the whole thing, especially “Gabriel’s Oboe. That’s one of my all time favorite movies. I’ve been thinking about you and your family–so sad to hear about your grandfather…know that you all are in my thoughts!

    love, Hallie

Leave a Reply

