A Brief Diversion: John Piper on G.K. Chesterton and John Calvin

Hello Readers,

I will, of course, be getting back to telling you about the trip around the Ring-Road soon enough, but in the meantime, I’ve found an article that I like and thought you might too.  It’s a critique of G.K. Chesterton’s dislike of ‘Calvinism’, as discussed in Orthodoxy.  The article is written by John Piper, whom doubtless you’ve heard of.  For those of you who are fans of Chesterton’s writings and are silently fuming that have posted anything challenging him (if you’ve read this far at all), you’ll be glad to know that Piper largely agrees with him and his argument is built on the premise that Chesterton’s understanding of Calvinism was incorrect.

Now I’ll confess to you that I’ve often found Mr. Piper’s writings off-putting myself.  Of the two, I do tend to be more inclined to reading Chesterton.  But this article interested me because it summed up better than I’ve been able to (and I’ve tried many times) some of the more common complaints I’ve heard made of Reformed theology.  Here’s the article.

And here’s a picture of a random sign that was put in across the street from Gamli Garður (where I lived during the school year).

P1010806Two things: 1) There are no moose in Iceland, 2) I want a sign like this.  I wasn’t sure what post I should put this picture in, as it’s not applicable to most stops on the Ring Road, or really much of anything else I’m going to write on.  But I wanted to show it to you.  So here it is.

So next time, we’ll continue with the trip around the Ring Road.  Thanks for Reading.

B.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

