Auld Lang Syne

Before we begin, here’s a fun picture.  I saw this on the duck pond in Reykjavík.  It’s   a human-sized hamster ball.  It was worth showing you, but it didn’t warrant its own post.P1010809But the real aim of this post is to wrap things up.  After I returned from Denmark, the rest of my time in Iceland was dedicated to thesis writing.  I enjoyed this well enough, but it did not give me any photo-worthy material.  The thesis is finished now, as is the Masters, as is my time in Iceland.  My time here has been, to say the least, well spent.  I’ve seen some beautiful and frightening landscapes, met lots of great people, learned a lot and, uncharacteristically for me, had fun.

It seems only appropriate to end with some photos.

P1000124 P1000190P1000219 P1000248

P1000284 P1000354 P1000369 P1000489 P1000516 P1000517 P1000910 P1000932 P1010059 P1010105

P1010299

P1010247

P1010366 P1010252If you’re planning to go to Iceland someday, I hope some of the pictures I’ve put up here in the past will give you some ideas of where you might want to visit.  I recommend the Snæfelssnes area, but you can’t go wrong with the Golden Circle.  Regardless, you must try horseback riding somewhere.  That was probably my favorite way to see the countryside, though hiking is fun too.  The food in most places is pretty good, and the people in most places are pretty friendly.  I suggest going during the summer since it’s too dark to do anything during the winter.  But if you go during the fall or winter, you get to see the Northern Lights.

P1010480Now that I have my M.A., let me make some reading suggestions.  First, I recommend Njáls saga again.  I’ve heard it compared (justly, I think) to War and Peace, and that means it’s good.  I won’t give anything else away here (but I have in older posts).  Second, those of you who have not yet had any exposure to the legend of Sigurðr the dragonslayer are missing out on one of the most powerful mythological tales in European history.  I think that it really should be taught alongside Homer’s Odyssey and Virgil’s Aeneid in our high school literature classes.  (Do high school literature classes still teach the Aeneid?)  Völsunga saga, though a little stylistically dry, is as good a place as any to get acquainted with the story, and the Eddic poems on the subject are great.  And if you want to meet one of the most entertaining characters in literature, you really must read Egils saga so you can hear about Egill Skallagrímsson.  Grettis saga and Laxdæla saga are also both excellent.

P1010267

P1010400Many thanks to the M.I.S. faculty and the Árni Magnússon Institute for the opportunity to study with them, and the Fulbright Commission for making my travels and studies possible, to the Icelanders for their hospitality, and to God for all of these things.

P1010799I’ve had fun writing this blog.  I hope you’ve enjoyed the pictures.  Many thanks to all of you for reading.

Sincerely,

Bond

P1000259

This entry was posted in Iceland. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Auld Lang Syne

  1. Stella Brown says:

    Bond, Thank you for sharing your experiences while in Iceland. I am going to miss receiving these wonderful emails! Congratulations on receiving your Masters degree. I will be following you via your grandmother and know you are going to make a significant contribution to mankind in which ever field you pursue. Good luck and blessings on you.

Leave a Reply

