Apologies

After my last post over a year ago, schoolwork got very busy.  Then I began the ongoing process of trying to find a job so that I could stay in the UK (no luck), and began working on applications for PhD programs (also no luck).  At first this left not time for updating this blog, and eventually, I forgot that I had a blog.  I have been reminded, and I’m going to add some pictures for the approximately three of you who read this.  I’m sorry it’s taken so long to get back to you.

Because it’s been a while, I don’t really remember the context of these pictures as well as I’d like to, but judging by my writing in the last few posts, I don’t tend to have much to say about what I post anyway, so you’re not missing out on much.P1030339

Above you see the University Library on a nice clear day, with the Cambridge flag flying.  There are some days when all of the colleges will fly their flags.  I like these days.  It’s fun to walk through town and see heraldry everywhere.

The UL at Cambridge is, I’m told, one of three copyright libraries in the UK (the other two being the British Library in London and Oxford’s Bodleian Library).  If I understand that correctly, it means the library gets a copy of every book copyrighted in the UK.

Also noteworthy: there’s an unfinished short story by C.S. Lewis titled ‘The Dark Tower’ that, before its abandonment, was meant to be a part of the Space Trilogy.  The story’s titular tower is thought to have been the UL.  (It does get pretty dark inside the UL.)

P1030341

I’m pretty impressed with the fact that so much can grow in the UK, so I’ve taken a lot of pictures of plants.  I won’t post them all, but these are nice.  I think I took them around Easter, but I can’t really remember.

P1030345

Well, that’s all for now.  Next time, I’ll find some more interested pictures.

best,

B.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

